Psychiatry Education & Training


To develop, coordinate and integrate the highest caliber multi-disciplinary education and training in the clinical care and scientific investigation of mental illness, and more broadly, in the study of behavior and its biological and psychological underpinnings.


The PET Council will enhance the coordination, efficiency and quality of the Department of Psychiatry’s education and training, develop new opportunities for collaborations with positive “multiplier” effects on scientific and funding resources, promote the integration of clinical and scientific training in a thoughtful and consistent manner, advance diversity and help develop a more cohesive and collegial Departmental identity around a shared core educational mission.

Faculty Members of the Education and Training Council 2015-2016
  • Igor Grant, MD, Ex Officio
  • Robert Anthenelli, MD, Ex Officio
  • Neal Swerdlow, MD, PhD, Chair
  • Gregory Light, PhD, Deputy Vice Chair
  • Kristin Beizai, MD
  • Sandra J. Brown, PhD
  • Brian Buzzella, PhD
  • Kristin Cadenhead, MD
  • Mariana Cherner, PhD
  • Robert Clark, PhD
  • Nancy Downs, MD
  • Lisa Eyler, PhD
  • David Folsom, MD, MPH
  • Jay Giedd, MD
  • Bob Heaton, PhD
  • Ellen Heyneman, MD
  • Amy Jak, PhD
  • Janis Jenkins, PhD
  • Pat Judd, PhD
  • John R. Kelsoe, MD
  • Steve Koh, MD, MBA, MPH
  • David Lehman, MD, MPH
  • Laurie Lindamer, PhD
  • Kurtis Lindeman, MD
  • Athina Markou, PhD
  • Barton Palmer, PhD
  • Bill Perry, PhD
  • Sanjai Rao, MD
  • Vicky Risbrough, PhD
  • Marc Schuckit, MD
  • Dan Sewell, MD
  • Louisa Steiger, MD, MPH
  • Murray Stein, MD, MPH
  • Sid Zisook, MD

Program Representatives of the Council of Trainees 2015-2016
  • Neal Swerdlow, MD, PhD
  • Gregory Light, PhD
  • Sanjai Rao, MD
  • Chaitanya Pabbati, MD
  • Lisa Glassman, PhD
  • Minh-Chau Do
  • Jonathon Howlett, MD
  • Sarah Jurick
  • Rujvi Kamat, PhD
  • Asma Khan, PhD
  • Seth Margolis
  • Jessica McCurley
  • Aaron Meyer, MD
  • Nate Miller, MD, PhD
  • Desiree Shapiro, MD
  • Melissa Tarasenko, PhD
  • Kalya Vardi, MD
  • Keenan Walker