To enhance the excellence and public health impact of Research Programs of the UCSD Department of Psychiatry by:
  • conceptually organizing and prioritizing areas of research to guide collaborative, multidisciplinary, and translational research, and focus faculty recruitment efforts;
  • facilitating cross-campus and cross-institute collaborative projects;
  • identifying opportunities to increase research funding.


Cutting edge, innovative, multidisciplinary, and translational research conducted by Psychiatry faculty will enhance our understanding of the biological and behavioral bases of normal and abnormal brain function, including their interactions with environmental factors.


Basic Laboratories

Psychopharmacology Research Initiatives Center of Excellence (PRICE)

Clinical Trial Program

For more information about clinical trials, contact: 619-543-6250

The opportunity to be involved with the newest medications and treatments for:

  • schizophrenia
  • anxiety
  • depression
  • obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • bipolar disorder