Skip to main content

UC San Diego Department of Psychiatry Video History

As we remember our bright past, we invite you to help shape our brilliant future together. In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Department of Psychiatry please consider giving to the Golden Anniversary Fund. Your support will help us respond to our greatest needs and most ambitious goals.

Watch Full-Length Video (16 min) on Youtube
In honor of the department's milestone anniversary, the Grants have established the Dr. Igor and JoAnn Grant Chair in Psychiatry, with additional funds to be raised and a match from the UC San Diego Chancellor's Chair and Faculty Fellowship Challenge. The endowed administrative chair will be held by future chairs of the Department of Psychiatry, who will succeed Dr. Grant. Endowed chairs play an important role in recruiting and retaining top physician-scientists. The administrative endowed chair will allow for the chair holder to utilize the annual funding for the greatest needs of the department. The Grants' gift contributes to the $2 billion goal of the university's comprehensive fundraising effort, the Campaign for UC San Diego.
On October 22, 2020, the Department celebrated the Grant family and the new chair and inaugural holder of the Dr. Igor and JoAnn Grant Endowed Chair in Psychiatry, Zafiris "Jeff" Daskalakis, M.D., Ph.D, FRCP.

Dr. Igor and Joann Grant Endowed Chair in Psychiatry - A Celebratory Event from CMCR on Vimeo.